MTG Card Frost Bite


Frost Bite
Released2021-02-05
Mana cost
Converted mana cost1
Border colorBlack
Set KHM - Kaldheim
RarityCommon
Layoutnormal
TypeSnow Instant
Number138
Frame version2015
Illustred by Caio Monteiro

This card be found in foil.

Formats and restrictions

StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
PaupercommanderLegal
GladiatorLegal
PioneerLegal
CommanderLegal
ModernLegal
PauperLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
BrawlLegal
PennyLegal

Recent decks

Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202267Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
17/1/202262StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard

Text of card Frost Bite


Frost Bite deals 2 damage to target creature or planeswalker. If you control three or more snow permanents, it deals 3 damage instead.

"Don't wander far—it's a bit nippy out there!" —Leidurr, expedition leader

Rules and information for Frost Bite


2021-02-05

Whether or not you control three or more snow permanents is checked as Frost Bite is resolving.

2021-02-05

Snow is a supertype, not a card type. It has no rules meaning or function by itself, but spells and abilities may refer to it.

2021-02-05

The {S} symbol is a generic mana symbol. It represents a cost that can be paid by one mana that was produced by a snow source. That mana can be any color or colorless.

2021-02-05

Snow isn’t a type of mana. If an effect says you may spend mana as though it were any type, you can’t pay for {S} using mana that wasn’t produced by a snow source.

2021-02-05

Some cards have additional effects for each {S} spent to cast them. You can cast these spells even if you don’t spend any snow mana to cast them; their additional effects simply won’t do anything.

2021-02-05

The Kaldheim set doesn’t have any cards with mana costs that include {S}, but some previous sets do. If an effect says such a spell costs less to cast, that reduction doesn’t apply to any {S} costs. This is also true for activated abilities that include {S} in their activation costs and effects that reduce those costs.