MTG Card Inscription of Ruin


Inscription of Ruin
Released2020-09-25
Mana cost
Converted mana cost3
Border colorBlack
Set ZNR - Zendikar Rising
RarityRare
Layoutnormal
TypeSorcery
Number340
Frame version2015
Illustred by Zoltan Boros

This card is found in a booster pack.

This card be found in foil.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
GladiatorLegal
PioneerLegal
CommanderLegal
ModernLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
BrawlLegal
PennyLegal

Recent decks

Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202267Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
17/1/202262StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard

Text of card Inscription of Ruin


Kicker {2} Choose one. If this spell was kicked, choose any number instead. • Target opponent discards two cards. • Return target creature card with mana value 2 or less from your graveyard to the battlefield. • Destroy target creature with mana value 3 or less.

Rules and information for Inscription of Ruin


2020-09-25

If you kick Inscription of Ruin, you can’t choose any one mode more than once.

2020-09-25

If more than one mode is chosen, perform them in the order written. Nothing can happen in between, however, and no player may choose to take actions. Any abilities that trigger will be put onto the stack after the spell has finished resolving.

2020-09-25

If any targets become illegal, the other targets will still be affected as appropriate.

2020-09-25

If a card in a player’s graveyard or a creature on the battlefield has in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.

2020-09-25

Because targets are chosen as you cast a spell, you can’t have Inscription of Ruin return a creature card and then destroy that creature.

2020-09-25

Kicker represents an optional additional cost that you may choose to pay as you cast the spell. A spell cast with that additional cost paid is “kicked.”

2020-09-25

You can’t pay a kicker cost more than once.

2020-09-25

If you put a permanent with a kicker ability onto the battlefield without casting it, you can’t kick it.

2020-09-25

If you copy a kicked spell, the copy is also kicked. If a card or token enters the battlefield as a copy of a permanent that’s already on the battlefield, the new permanent isn’t kicked, even if the original was.

2020-09-25

To determine a spell’s total cost, start with the mana cost (or an alternative cost if another card’s effect allows you to pay one instead), add any cost increases (such as kicker), then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell is determined only by its mana cost, no matter what the total cost to cast the spell was.

2020-09-25

Some instant or sorcery spells require alternative or additional targets if they’re kicked. You ignore these targeting requirements if those spells aren’t kicked, and you can’t kick those spells unless you can choose the appropriate targets. On the other hand, you can kick a permanent spell even if you won’t be able to choose targets for an enters-the-battlefield ability of that permanent once the spell resolves.

2020-09-25

An ability that triggers when a player casts a kicked spell resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger, but after targets have been chosen for that spell. It resolves even if that spell is countered.