Obstinate Baloth MTG Card


Card setsReleased in 3 setsSee all
Mana cost
Converted mana cost4
RarityRare
TypeCreature — Beast
Power 4
Toughness 4

Text of card Obstinate Baloth

When Obstinate Baloth enters the battlefield, you gain 4 life. If a spell or ability an opponent controls causes you to discard Obstinate Baloth, put it onto the battlefield instead of putting it into your graveyard.

Where to buy Obstinate Baloth MTG card?

If you're looking to purchase Obstinate Baloth MTG card by a specific set like Magic 2011 and Iconic Masters, there are several reliable options to consider. One of the primary sources is your local game store, where you can often find booster packs, individual cards, and preconstructed decks from current and some past sets. They often offer the added benefit of a community where you can trade with other players.

For a broader inventory, particularly of older sets, online marketplaces like TCGPlayer, Card Kingdom and Card Market offer extensive selections and allow you to search for cards from specific sets. Larger e-commerce platforms like eBay and Amazon also have listings from various sellers, which can be a good place to look for sealed product and rare finds.

Additionally, Magic’s official site often has a store locator and retailer lists for finding Wizards of the Coast licensed products. Remember to check for authenticity and the condition of the cards when purchasing, especially from individual sellers on larger marketplaces.

Below is a list of some store websites where you can buy the Obstinate Baloth and other MTG cards:

Continue exploring other sealed products in Amazon
See Magic products

Obstinate Baloth card sets

The Obstinate Baloth Magic the Gathering card was released in 3 different sets between 2010-07-16 and 2022-11-18. Illustrated by Chris Rahn.

#ReleaseNameCodeSymbolNumberFrameLayoutBorderArtist
12010-07-16Magic 2011M11 1882003normalblackChris Rahn
22017-11-17Iconic MastersIMA 1792015normalblackChris Rahn
32022-11-18The Brothers' WarBRO 1872015normalblackChris Rahn

Card legalities

Magic the Gathering formats where Obstinate Baloth has restrictions

FormatLegality
StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
PaupercommanderRestricted
OathbreakerLegal
GladiatorLegal
AlchemyLegal
PioneerLegal
CommanderLegal
ModernLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
ExplorerLegal
PredhLegal
BrawlLegal
PennyLegal
TimelessLegal

Rules and information about Obstinate Baloth

The reference guide for Magic: The Gathering Obstinate Baloth card rulings provides official rulings, any errata issued, as well as a record of all the functional modifications that have occurred.

DateText
2017-11-17 If a spell or ability an opponent controls causes you to discard Obstinate Baloth, and both Obstinate Baloth's ability and another ability (such as that of an opponent's Leyline of the Void) instruct you to put Obstinate Baloth somewhere else instead of putting it into your graveyard, you choose which one to apply.
2017-11-17 If you discard Obstinate Baloth and put it onto the battlefield, you've still discarded it. Abilities that trigger when you discard a card (such as that of Raiders' Wake) will still trigger.
2022-10-14 If you discard Obstinate Baloth and put it onto the battlefield, you've still discarded it. Abilities that trigger when you discard a card will still trigger.

Recent MTG decks

Continue exploring other format decks
More decks