MTG Card Gaea's Will
|Set||MH2 - Modern Horizons 2|
|Illustred by||Lucas Graciano|
This card is found in a booster pack.
This card be found in foil.
Formats and restrictions
Text of card Gaea's Will
Suspend 4— Until end of turn, you may play lands and cast spells from your graveyard. If a card would be put into your graveyard from anywhere this turn, exile that card instead.
Rules and information for Gaea's Will
Suspend is a keyword that represents three abilities. The first is a static ability that allows you to exile the card from your hand with the specified number of time counters (the number before the dash) on it by paying its suspend cost (listed after the dash). The second is a triggered ability that removes a time counter from the suspended card at the beginning of each of your upkeeps. The third is a triggered ability that causes you to cast the card when the last time counter is removed. If you cast a creature spell this way, it gains haste until you lose control of that creature (or, in rare cases, you lose control of the creature spell while it’s on the stack).
You can exile a card in your hand using suspend any time you could cast that card. Consider its card type, any effects that modify when you could cast it (such as flash) and any other effects that stop you from casting it (such as from Meddling Mage’s ability) to determine if and when you can do this. Whether you could actually complete all steps in casting the card is irrelevant. For example, you can exile a card with suspend that has no mana cost or that requires a target even if no legal targets are available at that time.
Cards exiled with suspend are exiled face up.
Exiling a card with suspend isn’t casting that card. This action doesn’t use the stack and can’t be responded to.
If the spell requires any targets, those targets are chosen when the spell is finally cast, not when it’s exiled.
If an effect refers to a “suspended card,” that means a card that (1) has suspend, (2) is in exile, and (3) has one or more time counters on it.
If the first triggered ability of suspend (the one that removes time counters) is countered, no time counter is removed. The ability will trigger again at the beginning of the card’s owner’s next upkeep.
When the last time counter is removed, the second triggered ability of suspend (the one that lets you cast the card) triggers. It doesn’t matter why the last time counter was removed or what effect removed it.
If the second triggered ability is countered, the card can’t be cast. It remains exiled with no time counters on it, and it’s no longer suspended.
As the second triggered ability resolves, you must cast the card if able. You must do so even if it requires targets and the only legal targets are ones that you really don’t want to target. Timing permissions based on the card’s type are ignored.
If you can’t cast the card, perhaps because there are no legal targets available, it remains exiled with no time counters on it, and it’s no longer suspended.
If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” such as with suspend, you can’t choose to cast it for any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those if you want to cast the card.
You are never forced to activate mana abilities to pay costs, so if there is a mandatory additional mana cost (such as from Thalia, Guardian of Thraben), you can decline to activate mana abilities to pay for it and hence fail to cast the suspended card, leaving it in exile.
If the card has in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.
The mana value of a spell cast without paying its mana cost is determined by its mana cost, even though that cost wasn’t paid.
A card with no mana cost can’t be cast normally; you’ll need a way to cast it for an alternative cost or without paying its mana cost, such as by suspending it.
If a card with no mana cost is given an alternative cost equal to its mana cost (by Snapcaster Mage, for example), that cost cannot be paid and the card cannot be cast this way.
The lands you play and spells you cast from your graveyard must follow the usual timing restrictions, and you must pay any costs for spells you cast.
Assuming it’s not a copy, Gaea’s Will will be exiled after it finishes resolving. (If it is a copy, the copy will go to the graveyard briefly before ceasing to exist.)
After Gaea’s Will resolves, nontoken creature you own that would die will be exiled instead. Abilities that would trigger when those creatures die won’t trigger. Token creatures you own will still die as normal after Gaea’s Will resolves.