MTG Card Chef's Kiss


Chef's Kiss
Released2021-06-18
Mana cost
Converted mana cost3
Border colorBlack
Set MH2 - Modern Horizons 2
RarityRare
Layoutnormal
TypeInstant
Number457
Frame version2015
Illustred by Iain McCaig

This card is found in a booster pack.

This card be found in foil.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

CommanderLegal
LegacyLegal
ModernLegal
PennyLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal

Recent decks

Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
6/12/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Bruno Di Donato
3/12/202175StandardBruno Di Donato
Jeff Jablonski
3/12/202175StandardJeff Jablonski
Izzet Epiphany
3/12/202175StandardYo Akaike
Jeskai Dragons
3/12/202175StandardJordan Freed
Izzet Epiphany
3/12/202175StandardTomáš Pokorný

Text of card Chef's Kiss


Gain control of target spell that targets only a single permanent or player. Copy it, then reselect the targets at random for the spell and the copy. The new targets can't be you or a permanent you control.

Rules and information for Chef's Kiss


2021-06-18

Chef’s Kiss can target any spell that targets a single permanent or player, including a spell you control.

2021-06-18

If there are any legal targets that are not you or permanents you control, you must reselect the targets at random.

2021-06-18

If there are no legal targets that could be selected, the targets remain unchanged. Note that this may not mean that those targets are illegal as the spell resolves. For example, if an opponent in a two-player game has hexproof and casts Lava Spike targeting you, Chef’s Kiss will not be able to change the target. However, this doesn’t make you an illegal target, and both the original spell and the copy will still target you and deal 3 damage to you.

2021-06-18

Note that Chef’s Kiss may make some or all of the targets of a spell illegal. For example, any spell an opponent cast that targets a “creature you control” will be unable to find a new legal target, and its target will remain unchanged. In that case, that part of the spell will do nothing. If that was the spell’s only target, that spell will be removed from the stack when it tries to resolve.

2021-06-18

If a spell has multiple instances of the word “target,” but all of them target the same permanent or player, it is a legal target for Chef’s Kiss. In that case, a new target will be reselected at random for each instance of the word target in its rules text. The same is true for the copy.

2021-06-18

Neither copying a spell nor reselecting its targets counts as casting a spell.

2021-06-18

You can sacrifice any token to activate the last ability, not just creature tokens.