Throne of the Grim Captain // The Grim Captain MTG Card
|Released in 2 setsSee all
|Converted mana cost
Text of card Throne of the Grim Captain // The Grim Captain
: Mill two cards. Craft with a Dinosaur, a Merfolk, a Pirate, and a Vampire (, Exile this artifact, Exile the four from among permanents you control and/or cards in your graveyard: Return this card transformed under its owner's control. Craft only as a sorcery.)
Where to buy Throne of the Grim Captain // The Grim Captain MTG card?
If you're looking to purchase Throne of the Grim Captain // The Grim Captain MTG card by a specific set like The Lost Caverns of Ixalan and The Lost Caverns of Ixalan, there are several reliable options to consider. One of the primary sources is your local game store, where you can often find booster packs, individual cards, and preconstructed decks from current and some past sets. They often offer the added benefit of a community where you can trade with other players.
For a broader inventory, particularly of older sets, online marketplaces like TCGPlayer, Card Kingdom and Card Market offer extensive selections and allow you to search for cards from specific sets. Larger e-commerce platforms like eBay and Amazon also have listings from various sellers, which can be a good place to look for sealed product and rare finds.
Additionally, Magic’s official site often has a store locator and retailer lists for finding Wizards of the Coast licensed products. Remember to check for authenticity and the condition of the cards when purchasing, especially from individual sellers on larger marketplaces.
Below is a list of some store websites where you can buy the Throne of the Grim Captain // The Grim Captain and other MTG cards:
- TCG Player
- Card Kingdom
- Card Market
- Star City Games
- MTG Mint Card
- Troll and Toad
- ABU Games
- Card Hoarder Magic Online
- MTGO Traders Magic Online
See Magic products
Throne of the Grim Captain // The Grim Captain card sets
The Throne of the Grim Captain // The Grim Captain Magic the Gathering card was released in 1 different sets between 2023-11-17 and 2023-11-17. Illustrated by 2 different artists.
Magic the Gathering formats where Throne of the Grim Captain // The Grim Captain has restrictions
Rules and information about Throne of the Grim Captain // The Grim Captain
The reference guide for Magic: The Gathering Throne of the Grim Captain // The Grim Captain card rulings provides official rulings, any errata issued, as well as a record of all the functional modifications that have occurred.
|Although the creature card you put onto the battlefield is an attacking creature, it was never declared as an attacking creature. This means that abilities that trigger whenever a creature attacks won't trigger when it enters the battlefield attacking.
|Craft abilities are activated abilities with costs that have a mana component as well as an additional "materials" component.
| Craft abilities are written "Craft with
-ana]", which means "
-ana], Exile this permanent, Exile
-aterials] from among permanents you control and/or cards in your graveyard: Return this card to the battlefield transformed under its owner's control. Activate only as a sorcery."
|If a card that isn't a transforming double-faced card becomes a copy of a card with craft, it'll stay in exile if you activate the craft ability. It won't return to the battlefield.
|If the materials required include multiple objects, you may exile some of them from among permanents you control and the rest from among cards in your graveyard. You don't have to choose all permanents or all cards from your graveyard.
|The Dinosaur, Merfolk, Pirate, and Vampire exiled to pay Throne of the Grim Captain's craft cost need to be separate objects. One creature with changeling is not enough.
|The back faces of some cards with craft refer to cards "used to craft" it. This refers to the cards exiled as part of the cost of the craft ability of the front face. Those cards are considered to be "used to craft" that permanent as long as they remain exiled and the permanent remains on the battlefield, even if the permanent's controller changes or some of its characteristics change (because of a copy effect, for example.)
|You choose which player, planeswalker, or battle the creature you put onto the battlefield is attacking as it enters the battlefield. It doesn't have to be the same player, planeswalker, or battle that The Grim Captain is attacking.
|You may exile tokens you control as part of the materials required. However, because they aren't cards and won't stay in exile, any abilities that refer to what you "used to craft" the back faces won't refer to anything.
Recent MTG decks