Soulcoil Viper MTG Card


Soulcoil Viper - The Lost Caverns of Ixalan
Mana cost
Converted mana cost3
RarityUncommon
TypeCreature — Snake
Released2023-11-17
Set symbol
Set nameThe Lost Caverns of Ixalan
Set codeLCI
Power 2
Toughness 3
Number120
Frame2015
Layoutnormal
Borderblack
Illustred byAllen Douglas

Text of card Soulcoil Viper

, , Sacrifice Soulcoil Viper: Return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield with a finality counter on it. Activate only as a sorcery. (If a creature with a finality counter on it would die, exile it instead.)

"As the snake sheds its skin to be born anew, we cast off death to rise as servants of Aclazotz." —Vito, Church of Dusk heretic

Where to buy Soulcoil Viper MTG card?

If you're looking to purchase Soulcoil Viper MTG card by a specific set like The Lost Caverns of Ixalan, there are several reliable options to consider. One of the primary sources is your local game store, where you can often find booster packs, individual cards, and preconstructed decks from current and some past sets. They often offer the added benefit of a community where you can trade with other players.

For a broader inventory, particularly of older sets, online marketplaces like TCGPlayer, Card Kingdom and Card Market offer extensive selections and allow you to search for cards from specific sets. Larger e-commerce platforms like eBay and Amazon also have listings from various sellers, which can be a good place to look for sealed product and rare finds.

Additionally, Magic’s official site often has a store locator and retailer lists for finding Wizards of the Coast licensed products. Remember to check for authenticity and the condition of the cards when purchasing, especially from individual sellers on larger marketplaces.

Below is a list of some store websites where you can buy the Soulcoil Viper and other MTG cards:

Continue exploring other sealed products in Amazon
See Magic products

Card legalities

Magic the Gathering formats where Soulcoil Viper has restrictions

FormatLegality
StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
PaupercommanderRestricted
OathbreakerLegal
GladiatorLegal
AlchemyLegal
PioneerLegal
CommanderLegal
ModernLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
ExplorerLegal
BrawlLegal
PennyLegal
TimelessLegal

Rules and information about Soulcoil Viper

The reference guide for Magic: The Gathering Soulcoil Viper card rulings provides official rulings, any errata issued, as well as a record of all the functional modifications that have occurred.

DateText
2023-11-10 Because you choose the target of Soulcoil Viper's ability before you pay the cost of sacrificing it, Soulcoil Viper can't be the target of its own ability.
2023-11-10 Finality counters aren't keyword counters, and a finality counter doesn't give any abilities to the permanent it's on. If that permanent loses its abilities and then would go to a graveyard, it will still be exiled instead.
2023-11-10 Finality counters don't stop permanents from going to zones other than the graveyard from the battlefield. For example, if a permanent with a finality counter on it would be put into its owner's hand from the battlefield, it does so normally.
2023-11-10 Finality counters work on any permanent, not only creatures. If a permanent with a finality counter on it would go to a graveyard from the battlefield, exile it instead.
2023-11-10 Multiple finality counters on a single permanent are redundant.

Recent MTG decks

Continue exploring other format decks
More decks

Recent MTG articles

Continue exploring articles
More articles