Preacher of the Schism MTG Card


Card setsReleased in 2 setsSee all
Mana cost
Converted mana cost3
RarityRare
TypeCreature — Vampire Cleric
Abilities Deathtouch
Power 2
Toughness 4

Text of card Preacher of the Schism

Deathtouch Whenever Preacher of the Schism attacks the player with the most life or tied for most life, create a 1/1 white Vampire creature token with lifelink. Whenever Preacher of the Schism attacks while you have the most life or are tied for most life, you draw a card and you lose 1 life.

Where to buy Preacher of the Schism MTG card?

If you're looking to purchase Preacher of the Schism MTG card by a specific set like The Lost Caverns of Ixalan and The Lost Caverns of Ixalan, there are several reliable options to consider. One of the primary sources is your local game store, where you can often find booster packs, individual cards, and preconstructed decks from current and some past sets. They often offer the added benefit of a community where you can trade with other players.

For a broader inventory, particularly of older sets, online marketplaces like TCGPlayer, Card Kingdom and Card Market offer extensive selections and allow you to search for cards from specific sets. Larger e-commerce platforms like eBay and Amazon also have listings from various sellers, which can be a good place to look for sealed product and rare finds.

Additionally, Magic’s official site often has a store locator and retailer lists for finding Wizards of the Coast licensed products. Remember to check for authenticity and the condition of the cards when purchasing, especially from individual sellers on larger marketplaces.

Below is a list of some store websites where you can buy the Preacher of the Schism and other MTG cards:

Continue exploring other sealed products in Amazon
See Magic products

Preacher of the Schism card sets

The Preacher of the Schism Magic the Gathering card was released in 1 different sets between 2023-11-17 and 2023-11-17. Illustrated by Donato Giancola.

#ReleaseNameCodeSymbolNumberFrameLayoutBorderArtist
12023-11-17The Lost Caverns of IxalanLCI 3672015normalblackDonato Giancola
22023-11-17The Lost Caverns of IxalanLCI 1132015normalblackDonato Giancola

Card legalities

Magic the Gathering formats where Preacher of the Schism has restrictions

FormatLegality
StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
OathbreakerLegal
GladiatorLegal
AlchemyLegal
PioneerLegal
CommanderLegal
ModernLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
ExplorerLegal
BrawlLegal
TimelessLegal

Rules and information about Preacher of the Schism

The reference guide for Magic: The Gathering Preacher of the Schism card rulings provides official rulings, any errata issued, as well as a record of all the functional modifications that have occurred.

DateText
2023-11-10 If you are tied for most life and Preacher of the Schism attacks another player who is tied for most life, both its middle and its last ability will trigger.
2023-11-10 Once Preacher of the Schism's middle ability triggers, it doesn't matter what happens to players' life totals before the ability resolves. You'll create a Vampire token even if the player Preacher of the Schism attacked doesn't have the most life as the ability resolves.
2023-11-10 Preacher of the Schism's middle ability triggers only if it attacks a player. It won't trigger if Preacher of the Schism attacks a planeswalker or battle, no matter what its controller's life total is.
2023-11-10 Similarly, once Preacher of the Schism's last ability triggers, it doesn't matter what happens to players' life totals before the ability resolves. You'll draw a card and lose 1 life even if you don't have the most life as the ability resolves.

Recent MTG decks

Continue exploring other format decks
More decks