MTG Card Smell Fear


Smell Fear
Released2021-06-18
Mana cost
Converted mana cost2
Border colorBlack
Set MH2 - Modern Horizons 2
RarityCommon
Layoutnormal
TypeSorcery
Number173
Frame version2015
Illustred by Cristi Balanescu

This card be found in foil.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

HistoricbrawlLegal
CommanderLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
PaupercommanderLegal
ModernLegal
PauperLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
GladiatorLegal
PennyLegal

Recent decks

Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202267Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
17/1/202262StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard

Text of card Smell Fear


Proliferate. (Choose any number of permanents and/or players, then give each another counter of each kind already there.) Target creature you control fights up to one target creature you don't control.

"It's fun when they run a little." —Wasitora, Nekoru queen

Rules and information for Smell Fear


2021-06-18

You cannot cast Smell Fear without any targets just to proliferate. You must choose at least one creature you control as a target to cast this spell. If you don’t choose a creature you don’t control as a target, no fight will occur.

2021-06-18

If you choose two creatures as targets with this spell and only one target is legal as the spell resolves, no fight will occur and no damage will be dealt, but you will still proliferate.

2021-06-18

If all targets are illegal as Smell Fear tries to resolve, it doesn’t resolve and you will not proliferate.

2021-06-18

To proliferate, you can choose any permanent that has a counter, including ones controlled by opponents, and you can choose any player who has a counter, including opponents. You can’t choose cards in any zone other than the battlefield, even if they have counters on them.

2021-06-18

You don’t have to choose every permanent or player that has a counter, only the ones you want to add another counter to. Since “any number” includes zero, you don’t have to choose any permanents at all, and you don’t have to choose any players at all.

2021-06-18

While proliferating, if you choose a permanent or player with multiple kinds of counters, the permanent or player gets another counter of each kind, not just one kind. This change from the original proliferate rules was introduced in a previous set.

2021-06-18

Players can respond to a spell or ability whose effect includes proliferating. Once that spell or ability starts to resolve, however, and its controller chooses which permanents and players will get new counters, it’s too late for anyone to respond.