MTG Card Stoke the Flames


Stoke the Flames
Reprinttourneyfnm
Released2014-01-01
Mana cost
Converted mana cost4
Border colorBlack
Set F14 - Friday Night Magic 2014
RarityRare
Layoutnormal
TypeInstant
Number12
Frame version2015
Illustred by Mathias Kollros

This card is found in a booster pack.

This card be found in foil.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

CommanderLegal
LegacyLegal
ModernLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
PioneerLegal
PennyLegal

Recent decks

Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202267Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
17/1/202262StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard

Text of card Stoke the Flames


Convoke (Your creatures can help cast this spell. Each creature you tap while casting this spell pays for or one mana of that creature's color.) Stoke the Flames deals 4 damage to any target.

Rules and information for Stoke the Flames


2014-07-18

The rules for convoke have changed slightly since it last appeared in an expansion. Previously, convoke reduced the cost to cast a spell. Under current rules, you tap creatures at the same time you pay the spell’s costs. Tapping a creature this way is simply another way to pay.

2014-07-18

Convoke doesn’t change a spell’s mana cost or converted mana cost.

2014-07-18

When calculating a spell’s total cost, include any alternative costs, additional costs, or anything else that increases or reduces the cost to cast the spell. Convoke applies after the total cost is calculated.

2014-07-18

Because convoke isn’t an alternative cost, it can be used in conjunction with alternative costs.

2014-07-18

Tapping a multicolored creature using convoke will pay for or one mana of your choice of any of that creature’s colors.

2014-07-18

When using convoke to cast a spell with in its mana cost, first choose the value for X. That choice, plus any cost increases or decreases, will determine the spell’s total cost. Then you can tap creatures you control to help pay that cost. For example, if you cast Chord of Calling (a spell with convoke and mana cost ) and choose X to be 3, the total cost is {3}. If you tap two green creatures and two red creatures, you’ll have to pay .

2014-07-18

If a creature you control has a mana ability with in the cost, activating that ability while casting a spell with convoke will result in the creature being tapped when you pay the spell’s costs. You won’t be able to tap it again for convoke. Similarly, if you sacrifice a creature to activate a mana ability while casting a spell with convoke, that creature won’t be on the battlefield when you pay the spell’s costs, so you won’t be able to tap it for convoke.