MTG Card Willbender


Willbender
Reprint
Released2008-11-07
Mana cost
Converted mana cost2
Border colorBlack
Set DD2 - Duel Decks: Jace vs. Chandra
RarityUncommon
Layoutnormal
TypeCreature — Human Wizard
Power 1
Toughness 2
Number6
Frame version2003
Illustred by Eric Peterson

This card is found in a booster pack.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

CommanderLegal
LegacyLegal
PaupercommanderRestricted
ModernLegal
PremodernLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
PennyLegal

Recent decks

Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202267Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
17/1/202262StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard

Text of card Willbender


Morph (You may cast this card face down as a 2/2 creature for {3}. Turn it face up any time for its morph cost.) When Willbender is turned face up, change the target of target spell or ability with a single target.

Rules and information for Willbender


2004-10-04

The trigger occurs when you use the Morph ability to turn the card face up, or when an effect turns it face up. It will not trigger on being revealed or on leaving the battlefield.

2013-04-15

If a spell with split second is on the stack, you can still respond by turning this creature face up and targeting that spell with the trigger. This is because split second only stops players from casting spells or activating abilities, while turning a creature face up is a special action.

2018-03-16

You don’t choose the new target for the spell until Willbender’s triggered ability resolves. You must change the target if possible. However, you can’t change the target to an illegal target. If there are no legal targets to choose from, the target isn’t changed. It doesn’t matter if the original target of that spell has somehow become illegal itself.

2018-03-16

If a spell or ability targets multiple things, you can’t target it with Willbender’s triggered ability, even if all but one of those targets have become illegal.

2018-03-16

If a spell or ability targets the same player or object multiple times, you can’t target it with Willbender’s ability.