Basking Capybara MTG Card


Basking Capybara - The Lost Caverns of Ixalan
Mana cost
Converted mana cost2
RarityCommon
TypeCreature — Capybara
Abilities Descend
Released2023-11-17
Set symbol
Set nameThe Lost Caverns of Ixalan
Set codeLCI
Power 1
Toughness 3
Number175
Frame2015
Layoutnormal
Borderblack
Illustred byIlse Gort

Text of card Basking Capybara

Descend 4 — Basking Capybara gets +3/+0 as long as there are four or more permanent cards in your graveyard.

"Even our most learned philosophers can only hope to approach the inner serenity of the humble capybara." —Nelli, Oltec didact

Where to buy Basking Capybara MTG card?

If you're looking to purchase Basking Capybara MTG card by a specific set like The Lost Caverns of Ixalan, there are several reliable options to consider. One of the primary sources is your local game store, where you can often find booster packs, individual cards, and preconstructed decks from current and some past sets. They often offer the added benefit of a community where you can trade with other players.

For a broader inventory, particularly of older sets, online marketplaces like TCGPlayer, Card Kingdom and Card Market offer extensive selections and allow you to search for cards from specific sets. Larger e-commerce platforms like eBay and Amazon also have listings from various sellers, which can be a good place to look for sealed product and rare finds.

Additionally, Magic’s official site often has a store locator and retailer lists for finding Wizards of the Coast licensed products. Remember to check for authenticity and the condition of the cards when purchasing, especially from individual sellers on larger marketplaces.

Below is a list of some store websites where you can buy the Basking Capybara and other MTG cards:

Continue exploring other sealed products in Amazon
See Magic products

Card legalities

Magic the Gathering formats where Basking Capybara has restrictions

FormatLegality
StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
PaupercommanderLegal
OathbreakerLegal
GladiatorLegal
AlchemyLegal
PioneerLegal
CommanderLegal
ModernLegal
PauperLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
ExplorerLegal
BrawlLegal
PennyLegal
TimelessLegal

Rules and information about Basking Capybara

The reference guide for Magic: The Gathering Basking Capybara card rulings provides official rulings, any errata issued, as well as a record of all the functional modifications that have occurred.

DateText
2023-11-10 Cards with the ability word "descend N" have abilities that care if you have at least N permanent cards in your graveyard.
2023-11-10 Some descend triggered abilities include intervening "if" clauses (i.e. "if you have
-our or eight] permanent cards in your graveyard" in the middle of the ability). Each of these abilities checks your graveyard at the moment it would trigger to see if it does. If you don't have the required number of permanent cards in your graveyard at that time, the ability doesn't trigger at all. If it does trigger, it will check again as it tries to resolve. If you don't have the required number of permanent cards in your graveyard at that time, the ability won't resolve and none of its effects will happen.

Recent MTG decks

Continue exploring other format decks
More decks