MTG Card Zariel, Archduke of Avernus


Zariel, Archduke of Avernus
Printings
Released2021-07-23
Mana cost
Converted mana cost4
Border color
Set AFR - Adventures in the Forgotten Realms
RarityMythic
Layoutnormal
TypeLegendary Planeswalker — Zariel
Loyalty 4
Number285
Frame version2015
Illustred by Scott M. Fischer

This card is found in a booster pack.

This card be found in foil.

Recent decks

Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
29/3/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
9/8/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
26/4/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
16/8/202171StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
25/10/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
21/6/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player

Formats and restrictions

StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
CommanderLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
ModernLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
GladiatorLegal
BrawlLegal
PioneerLegal

Text of card Zariel, Archduke of Avernus



+1: Creatures you control get +1/+0 and gain haste until end of turn.
0: Create a 1/1 red Devil creature token with "When this creature dies, it deals 1 damage to any target."
-6: You get an emblem with "At the end of the first combat phase on your turn, untap target creature you control. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase."

Rules and information for Zariel, Archduke of Avernus


2021-07-23

There is no main phase between the combat phases. You move from the first combat phase directly into the second combat phase.

2021-07-23

The ability of the emblem can target any creature you control, not just one that's tapped.

2021-07-23

If the target of the emblem's ability becomes an illegal target by the time the ability tries to resolve, the ability won't resolve and none of its effects will happen. You won't get an additional combat phase.

2021-07-23

If you have more than one of Zariel's emblem, the abilities will each trigger at the end of the first combat phase on your turn. You can choose the same creature as the target of each ability. Those targets will untap before any additional combats. No creatures will untap between the first additional combat and the second additional combat (or between the second and third, and so on, and wow, how long was Zariel under your control?!)