MTG Card True Polymorph


True Polymorph
Printings
Released2021-07-23
Mana cost
Converted mana cost6
Border colorBlack
Set AFR - Adventures in the Forgotten Realms
RarityRare
Layoutnormal
TypeInstant
Number369
Frame version2015
Illustred by Steve Prescott

This card is found in a booster pack.

This card be found in foil.

Recent decks

Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
29/3/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
9/8/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
26/4/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
16/8/202171StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
25/10/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
21/6/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player

Formats and restrictions

StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
GladiatorLegal
PioneerLegal
CommanderLegal
ModernLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
BrawlLegal
PennyLegal

Text of card True Polymorph


Target artifact or creature becomes a copy of another target artifact or creature.

Rules and information for True Polymorph


2021-07-23

True Polymorph's effect does not have a duration. The copy effect it creates lasts as long as the first target remains on the battlefield.

2021-07-23

True Polymorph causes the first target permanent to copy the printed values of the second target permanent, including any copy and mutate effects that have been applied to it. It won't copy counters on that permanent or effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, and so on.

2021-07-23

If the first target permanent copies a permanent that's copying something else, it will become whatever the second target is copying.

2021-07-23

If an effect begins to apply to the first target permanent before it becomes a copy of another permanent, that effect will continue to apply.

2021-07-23

If the first target becomes a creature the same turn it entered the battlefield, you can't attack with it or use any of its abilities unless it has haste.

2021-07-23

If the target permanent is an Equipment attached to a creature and it becomes a copy of a non-Equipment permanent, it becomes unattached. If it becomes a copy of an Equipment, it remains attached.

2021-07-23

If either target is an illegal target for True Polymorph as it resolves, the spell will do nothing.