MTG Card Ray of Frost


Ray of Frost
Released2021-07-23
Mana cost
Converted mana cost2
Border colorBlack
Set AFR - Adventures in the Forgotten Realms
RarityUncommon
Layoutnormal
TypeEnchantment — Aura
Number68
Frame version2015
Illustred by Kim Sokol

This card be found in foil.

Formats and restrictions

StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
GladiatorLegal
PioneerLegal
CommanderLegal
ModernLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
BrawlLegal
PennyLegal

Recent decks

Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202267Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
17/1/202262StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard

Text of card Ray of Frost


Flash Enchant creature When Ray of Frost enters the battlefield, if enchanted creature is red, tap it. As long as enchanted creature is red, it loses all abilities. Enchanted creature doesn't untap during its controller's untap step.

Rules and information for Ray of Frost


2021-07-23

If the enchanted creature is red (or if it becomes red), it loses all abilities that it had prior to the time Ray of Frost became attached to it. It will keep any abilities that were granted to it after Ray of Frost became attached to it.

2021-07-23

If the enchanted creature is red and has a characteristic-defining ability that specifies its types or colors, that ability will still have its effect because it's applied before the creature loses the ability.

2021-07-23

If the enchanted creature is red and has a characteristic-defining ability that specifies its power and/or toughness, that ability will not have its effect. In that case, its power and/or toughness (as appropriate) become 0.

2021-07-23

Some noncreature permanents, such as Grand Master of Flowers, become creatures because of a static ability they have. If Ray of Frost becomes attached to such a creature and that creature is red or becomes red, that permanent will remain a creature even though it loses the ability that is making it a creature after that ability applies.