MTG Card Dragon's Disciple


Dragon's Disciple
Released2021-07-23
Mana cost
Converted mana cost2
Border colorBlack
Set AFR - Adventures in the Forgotten Realms
RarityUncommon
Layoutnormal
TypeCreature — Human Monk
Power 1
Toughness 3
Number13
Frame version2015
Illustred by Lucas Graciano

This card be found in foil.

Recent decks

Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
29/3/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
9/8/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
26/4/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
16/8/202171StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
25/10/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
21/6/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player

Formats and restrictions

StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
GladiatorLegal
PioneerLegal
CommanderLegal
ModernLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
BrawlLegal
PennyLegal

Text of card Dragon's Disciple


As Dragon's Disciple enters the battlefield, you may reveal a Dragon card from your hand. If you do or if you control a Dragon, Dragon's Disciple enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it. Dragons you control have ward . (Whenever a Dragon you control becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls, counter it unless that player pays .)

Rules and information for Dragon's Disciple


2021-07-23

A Dragon card is a card with the creature type Dragon in its type line. Similarly, a creature on the battlefield is a Dragon if it has the Dragon creature type. A card that has “Dragon” in the name (such as Dragon's Disciple) isn't a Dragon card unless it also has the Dragon creature type.

2021-07-23

Revealing a Dragon card happens as Dragon's Disciple resolves. It is not an additional cost for casting the spell.

2021-07-23

If you choose to reveal a Dragon card from your hand and also control a Dragon, Dragon's Disciple still only gets a single +1/+1 counter.

2021-07-23

Players can respond to Dragon's Disciple while it is on the stack, but they cannot respond to the choice of whether or not to reveal a Dragon as it enters the battlefield. Notably, that means they can't remove your Dragon from play to prevent Dragon's Disciple from getting the counter once you've decided not to reveal a Dragon card.

2021-07-23

If a player casts a spell that targets multiple permanents their opponent controls with ward, each of those ward abilities will trigger. If that player doesn’t pay for all of them, the spell will be countered.