MTG Card Torrent Sculptor // Flamethrower Sonata


Torrent Sculptor // Flamethrower Sonata
Reprintprereleasedatestamped
Released2021-04-23
Mana cost
Converted mana cost4
Border colorBlack
Set PSTX - Strixhaven: School of Mages Promos
RarityRare
LayoutModal double-faced
TypeCreature — Merfolk Wizard
Power 2
Toughness 2
Number159s
Frame version2015
Illustred by Slawomir Maniak

This card is found in a booster pack.

This card be found in foil.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
GladiatorLegal
PioneerLegal
CommanderLegal
ModernLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
BrawlLegal
PennyLegal

Recent decks

Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202267Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
17/1/202262StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard

Text of card Torrent Sculptor // Flamethrower Sonata


Ward {2} (Whenever this creature becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls, counter it unless that player pays {2}.) When Torrent Sculptor enters the battlefield, exile an instant or sorcery card from your graveyard. Put a number of +1/+1 counters on Torrent Sculptor equal to half that card's mana value, rounded up.

Rules and information for Torrent Sculptor // Flamethrower Sonata


2021-04-16

You choose which instant or sorcery card to exile as Torrent Sculptor’s enters-the-battlefield ability resolves. You must exile one if able.

2021-04-16

Flamethrower Sonata goes on the stack without a target. While it is resolving, you discard a card, then draw a card. When you discard an instant or sorcery card this way, the reflexive triggered ability triggers and you pick a target to be dealt damage. This is different from effects that say “If you do . . .” in that players can respond to the triggered ability knowing how much damage will be dealt.

2021-04-16

If you have no cards in hand as Flamethrower Sonata resolves, you won’t be able to discard a card, but you will draw a card. No damage will be dealt.

2021-04-16

If a player casts a spell that targets multiple permanents their opponent controls with ward, each of those ward abilities will trigger. If that player doesn’t pay for all of them, the spell will be countered.