MTG Card Mental Misstep


Mental Misstep
Released2011-05-13
Mana cost
Converted mana cost1
Border colorBlack
Set NPH - New Phyrexia
RarityUncommon
Layoutnormal
TypeInstant
Number38
Frame version2003
Illustred by Erica Yang

This card be found in foil.

Formats and restrictions

CommanderLegal
LegacyBanned
ModernBanned
VintageRestricted
DuelLegal

Recent decks

Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
22/11/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
22/11/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
15/11/202160StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
8/11/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
25/10/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
25/10/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player

Text of card Mental Misstep


({U/P} can be paid with either or 2 life.) Counter target spell with mana value 1.

"Your first mistake was thinking I would let you live long enough to make a second." —Sarnvax, Gitaxian sective

Rules and information for Mental Misstep


2011-06-01

A card with Phyrexian mana symbols in its mana cost is each color that appears in that mana cost, regardless of how that cost may have been paid.

2011-06-01

To calculate the converted mana cost of a card with Phyrexian mana symbols in its cost, count each Phyrexian mana symbol as 1.

2011-06-01

As you cast a spell or activate an activated ability with one or more Phyrexian mana symbols in its cost, you choose how to pay for each Phyrexian mana symbol at the same time you would choose modes or choose a value for X.

2011-06-01

If you’re at 1 life or less, you can’t pay 2 life.

2011-06-01

Phyrexian mana is not a new color. Players can’t add Phyrexian mana to their mana pools.

2011-06-01

If a spell has in its mana cost, X is considered to be the value chosen for it while that spell is on the stack.

2011-06-01

Each Phyrexian mana symbol in a spell’s mana cost contributes 1 to that spell’s converted mana cost. For example, Mental Misstep’s converted mana cost is 1, regardless of how its cost was paid.