MTG Card Brutal Cathar // Moonrage Brute


Brutal Cathar // Moonrage Brute
Released2021-09-24
Mana cost
Converted mana cost3
Border colorBlack
Set MID - Innistrad: Midnight Hunt
RarityRare
LayoutModal double-faced
TypeCreature — Human Soldier Werewolf
Power 2
Toughness 2
Number7
Frame version2015
Illustred by Karl Kopinski

This card be found in foil.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
CommanderLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
ModernLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
GladiatorLegal
BrawlLegal
PioneerLegal

Recent decks

Bruno Di Donato
3/12/202175StandardBruno Di Donato
Jeff Jablonski
3/12/202175StandardJeff Jablonski
Izzet Epiphany
3/12/202175StandardYo Akaike
Jeskai Dragons
3/12/202175StandardJordan Freed
Izzet Epiphany
3/12/202175StandardTomáš Pokorný
Jacob Wilson
3/12/202175StandardJacob Wilson

Text of card Brutal Cathar // Moonrage Brute


When this creature enters the battlefield or transforms into Brutal Cathar, exile target creature an opponent controls until this creature leaves the battlefield. Daybound (If a player casts no spells during their own turn, it becomes night next turn.)

Rules and information for Brutal Cathar // Moonrage Brute


2021-09-24

Day and night are designations that the game itself can have. The game starts as neither. Once the game becomes day (or less commonly, night), the game will be exactly one of them—day or night—going back and forth for the rest of the game.

2021-09-24

Before a player untaps their permanents during the untap step, the game checks to see if the day/night designation should change.

2021-09-24

If it is day, and the active player of the previous turn cast no spells during their turn, it becomes night.

2021-09-24

If it is night, and the active player of the previous turn cast two or more spells during their turn, it becomes day.

2021-09-24

For more information about Day and Night and the Daybound and Nightbound abilities, please see the Innistrad: Midnight Hunt Mechanics atricle (https://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/feature/innistrad-midnight-hunt-mechanics-2021-09-02).

2021-09-24

Double-faced permanents with daybound transform to their nightbound faces as it becomes night. Similarly, double-faced permanents with nightbound transform to their daybound faces as it becomes day. This happens immediately and is not a state-based action. It happens any time it becomes day or night, not just during the untap step.

2021-09-24

If you cast a spell with daybound during night, that spell will be front face up (that is, daybound face up) on the stack. However, it will enter the battlefield with its back face up (that is, with its nightbound face up). It won’t enter with its daybound face up and then transform.

2021-09-24

If it is night, permanents with daybound that enter the battlefield without being cast will enter with their nightbound faces up.

2021-09-24

Permanents with daybound and nightbound can’t transform via any means other than their daybound and nightbound abilities. Notably, older cards such as Moonmist that instruct a player to transform permanents don’t affect permanents with daybound or nightbound.

2021-09-24

If it’s neither day nor night, and a creature with daybound and a creature with nightbound somehow appear on the battlefield at the same time, it becomes day. The creature with nightbound will transform.