MTG Card Thought Erasure


Thought Erasure
Released2018-10-05
Mana cost
Converted mana cost2
Border colorBlack
Set GRN - Guilds of Ravnica
RarityUncommon
Layoutnormal
TypeSorcery
Number206
Frame version2015
Illustred by Anna Steinbauer

This card be found in foil.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

HistoricbrawlLegal
CommanderLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
ModernLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
GladiatorLegal
PioneerLegal

Recent decks

Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202267Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
17/1/202262StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard

Text of card Thought Erasure


Target opponent reveals their hand. You choose a nonland card from it. That player discards that card. Surveil 1. (Look at the top card of your library. You may put it into your graveyard.)

"It's truly the highest honor, isn't it? To be remembered? Pity for you."

Rules and information for Thought Erasure


2018-10-05

You surveil 1 even if the opponent doesn’t discard a card, perhaps because they had no cards in hand at all.

2018-10-05

When you surveil, you may put all the cards you look at back on top of your library, you may put all of those cards into your graveyard, or you may put some of those cards on top and the rest of them into your graveyard.

2018-10-05

You perform the actions stated on a card in sequence. For some spells and abilities, you’ll surveil last. For others, you’ll surveil and then perform other actions.

2018-10-05

Some spells that instruct you to surveil require targets. You can’t cast a spell without choosing legal targets. If all of those targets become illegal, the spell doesn’t resolve and you won’t surveil.