MTG Card Ingenious Mastery


Ingenious Mastery
Reprintpromopackstampedplaneswalkerstamped
Released2021-04-23
Mana cost
Converted mana cost3
Border colorBlack
Set PSTX - Strixhaven: School of Mages Promos
RarityRare
Layoutnormal
TypeSorcery
Number44p
Frame version2015
Illustred by Cristi Balanescu

This card is found in a booster pack.

This card be found in foil.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
GladiatorLegal
PioneerLegal
CommanderLegal
ModernLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
BrawlLegal
PennyLegal

Recent decks

Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202267Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
17/1/202262StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard

Text of card Ingenious Mastery


You may pay {2} rather than pay this spell's mana cost. If the {2} cost was paid, you draw three cards, then an opponent creates two Treasure tokens and they scry 2. If that cost wasn't paid, you draw X cards.

Rules and information for Ingenious Mastery


2021-04-16

The mana value of a spell on the stack is determined by its mana cost, not any alternative costs you used to pay for it.

2021-04-16

If you choose to pay one alternative cost, you can’t pay any other alternative costs. For example, if an effect lets you cast a “Mastery” spell “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t also choose to pay its given alternative cost.

2021-04-16

If an effect increases or decreases the cost of spells you cast, that cost increase or decrease is applied to the alternative cost you chose to pay. In that case, the cost was still paid for the purposes of the effect, even if you paid more or less for it when it was cast.

2021-04-16

If you copy a “Mastery” spell and the alternative cost was paid, the copy will resolve as though the cost was paid.

2021-04-16

In a multiplayer game, you choose which opponent takes the prescribed action as the spell resolves.