MTG Card Codie, Vociferous Codex


Codie, Vociferous Codex
Reprintpromopackstampedplaneswalkerstamped
Released2021-04-23
Mana cost
Converted mana cost3
Border colorBlack
Set PSTX - Strixhaven: School of Mages Promos
RarityRare
Layoutnormal
TypeLegendary Artifact Creature — Construct
Power 1
Toughness 4
Number253p
Frame version2015
Illustred by Daniel Ljunggren

This card is found in a booster pack.

This card be found in foil.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

StandardLegal
HistoricbrawlLegal
CommanderLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
ModernLegal
FutureLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
GladiatorLegal
BrawlLegal
PioneerLegal

Recent decks

Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202267Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
17/1/202262StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard

Text of card Codie, Vociferous Codex


You can't cast permanent spells. {4}, : Add . When you cast your next spell this turn, exile cards from the top of your library until you exile an instant or sorcery card with lesser mana value. Until end of turn, you may cast that card without paying its mana cost. Put each other card exiled this way on the bottom of your library in a random order.

Rules and information for Codie, Vociferous Codex


2021-04-16

A permanent spell is an artifact, creature, enchantment, or planeswalker spell. You may still play lands and cast instant and sorcery spells. Other effects can still put permanents onto the battlefield.

2021-04-16

While you control Codie (as much as anyone can really “control” Codie), you may cast any face of a modal double-faced card that’s an instant or sorcery face, even if the other face is a permanent face.

2021-04-16

Codie’s activated ability is a mana ability. It can’t be countered or responded to, and you can activate it while casting a spell. If you do, that spell is “the next spell” you cast this turn.

2021-04-16

The delayed triggered ability created by Codie’s second ability will resolve before the spell that caused it to trigger. That ability will resolve even if the spell is countered or otherwise doesn’t resolve.

2021-04-16

You exile the cards face up. All players will be able to see them.

2021-04-16

The last card exiled is not cast immediately. You may cast it until the end of the current turn. If you do not cast it, that card will remain in exile.

2021-04-16

If you cast a spell “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t choose to cast it for any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those to cast the spell.

2021-04-16

If the card has in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.

2021-04-16

The mana value of the spell that caused the ability to trigger is determined only by its mana cost, no matter what the total cost to cast the spell was.

2021-04-16

The types and mana value of a double-faced card in exile are determined by the characteristics of its front face. The mana value of a split card is the total mana value of both halves of the split card added together.

2021-04-16

If you exile your entire library without exiling an instant or sorcery card with a lesser mana value, you will randomize the exiled cards and they again become your library, ending the effect. You will not continue to exile and shuffle your library forever.