MTG Card Birthing Pod


Birthing Pod
Released2011-05-13
Mana cost
Converted mana cost4
Border colorBlack
Set NPH - New Phyrexia
RarityRare
Layoutnormal
TypeArtifact
Number104
Frame version2003
Illustred by Daarken

This card be found in foil.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

CommanderLegal
LegacyLegal
ModernBanned
VintageLegal
DuelLegal

Recent decks

Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202267Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
17/1/202262StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard

Text of card Birthing Pod


({G/P} can be paid with either or 2 life.) {G/P}, , Sacrifice a creature: Search your library for a creature card with mana value equal to 1 plus the sacrificed creature's mana value, put that card onto the battlefield, then shuffle. Activate only as a sorcery.

Rules and information for Birthing Pod


2011-06-01

A card with Phyrexian mana symbols in its mana cost is each color that appears in that mana cost, regardless of how that cost may have been paid.

2011-06-01

To calculate the mana value of a card with Phyrexian mana symbols in its cost, count each Phyrexian mana symbol as 1.

2011-06-01

As you cast a spell or activate an activated ability with one or more Phyrexian mana symbols in its cost, you choose how to pay for each Phyrexian mana symbol at the same time you would choose modes or choose a value for X.

2011-06-01

If you’re at 1 life or less, you can’t pay 2 life.

2011-06-01

Phyrexian mana is not a new color. Players can’t add Phyrexian mana to their mana pools.

2011-06-01

A creature’s mana value is determined solely by the mana symbols printed in its upper right corner (unless that creature is copying something else; see below). If its mana cost includes , X is considered to be 0. If it has no mana symbols in its upper right corner (because it’s an animated land, for example), its mana value is 0. Ignore any alternative costs or additional costs (such as kicker) paid when the creature was cast.

2011-06-01

A token has a mana value of 0, unless it is copying something else.

2011-06-01

If a creature is copying something else, its mana value is the mana value of whatever it’s copying.