MTG Card Unbounded Potential


Unbounded Potential
Released2021-06-18
Mana cost
Converted mana cost2
Border colorBlack
Set MH2 - Modern Horizons 2
RarityCommon
Layoutnormal
TypeInstant
Number36
Frame version2015
Illustred by Iain McCaig

This card be found in foil.

Formats and restrictions

CommanderLegal
LegacyLegal
PaupercommanderLegal
ModernLegal
PauperLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
PennyLegal

Recent decks

Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
22/11/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
22/11/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
15/11/202160StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
8/11/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
25/10/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
25/10/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player

Text of card Unbounded Potential


Choose one — • Put a +1/+1 counter on each of up to two target creatures. • Proliferate. (Choose any number of permanents and/or players, then give each another counter of each kind already there.) Entwine {3} (Choose both if you pay the entwine cost.)

Rules and information for Unbounded Potential


2021-06-18

If you cast this spell by paying its entwine cost, you will be able to proliferate the counters that you placed with the first mode.

2021-06-18

To proliferate, you can choose any permanent that has a counter, including ones controlled by opponents, and you can choose any player who has a counter, including opponents. You can’t choose cards in any zone other than the battlefield, even if they have counters on them.

2021-06-18

You don’t have to choose every permanent or player that has a counter, only the ones you want to add another counter to. Since “any number” includes zero, you don’t have to choose any permanents at all, and you don’t have to choose any players at all.

2021-06-18

While proliferating, if you choose a permanent or player with multiple kinds of counters, the permanent or player gets another counter of each kind, not just one kind. This change from the original proliferate rules was introduced in a previous set.

2021-06-18

Players can respond to a spell or ability whose effect includes proliferating. Once that spell or ability starts to resolve, however, and its controller chooses which permanents and players will get new counters, it’s too late for anyone to respond.

2021-06-18

If a permanent has +1/+1 counters and -1/-1 counters on it, they’re removed in pairs as a state-based action so that the permanent has only one of those kinds of counters (or none of either kind of counters) on it.