MTG Card Sudden Edict


Sudden Edict
Released2021-06-18
Mana cost
Converted mana cost2
Border colorBlack
Set MH2 - Modern Horizons 2
RarityUncommon
Layoutnormal
TypeInstant
Number346
Frame version2015
Illustred by Ryan Yee

This card is found in a booster pack.

This card be found in foil.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

HistoricbrawlLegal
CommanderLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
ModernLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
GladiatorLegal
PennyLegal

Recent decks

Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
22/11/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
22/11/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
15/11/202160StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
8/11/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
25/10/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
25/10/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player

Text of card Sudden Edict


Split second (As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't cast spells or activate abilities that aren't mana abilities.) Target player sacrifices a creature.

Intent: This illustration uses an existing visual gag that shows the moments before and after a spell was cast. We'd like you to use this visual gag for a spell that destroys a creature.

Rules and information for Sudden Edict


2021-06-18

Players may turn face-down creatures face up while a spell with split second is on the stack.

2021-06-18

Players still get priority while a card with split second is on the stack; their options are just limited to mana abilities and certain special actions.

2021-06-18

Split second doesn’t stop triggered abilities from triggering, such as that of Chalice of the Void. If one does, its controller puts it on the stack and chooses targets for it, if any. Those abilities will resolve as normal

2021-06-18

Casting a spell with split second won’t affect spells and abilities that are already on the stack.

2021-06-18

If the resolution of a triggered ability involves casting a spell, that spell can’t be cast if a spell with split second is on the stack.

2021-06-18

After a spell with split second resolves (or otherwise leaves the stack), players may again cast spells and activate abilities before the next object on the stack resolves.