MTG Card Sudden Edict


Sudden Edict
Printings
Released2021-06-18
Mana cost
Converted mana cost2
Border colorBlack
Set MH2 - Modern Horizons 2
RarityUncommon
Layoutnormal
TypeInstant
Number100
Frame version2015
Illustred by Ryan Yee

This card be found in foil.

Recent decks

Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
29/3/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
9/8/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
26/4/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
16/8/202171StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
25/10/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
21/6/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player

Formats and restrictions

HistoricbrawlLegal
CommanderLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
ModernLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
GladiatorLegal
PennyLegal

Text of card Sudden Edict


Split second (As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't cast spells or activate abilities that aren't mana abilities.) Target player sacrifices a creature.

"In one future, I see glory. In the other . . . well, that's another story." —Whisper, blood liturgist

Rules and information for Sudden Edict


2021-06-18

Players may turn face-down creatures face up while a spell with split second is on the stack.

2021-06-18

Players still get priority while a card with split second is on the stack; their options are just limited to mana abilities and certain special actions.

2021-06-18

Split second doesn’t stop triggered abilities from triggering, such as that of Chalice of the Void. If one does, its controller puts it on the stack and chooses targets for it, if any. Those abilities will resolve as normal

2021-06-18

Casting a spell with split second won’t affect spells and abilities that are already on the stack.

2021-06-18

If the resolution of a triggered ability involves casting a spell, that spell can’t be cast if a spell with split second is on the stack.

2021-06-18

After a spell with split second resolves (or otherwise leaves the stack), players may again cast spells and activate abilities before the next object on the stack resolves.