MTG Card Priest of Fell Rites


Priest of Fell Rites
Released2021-06-18
Mana cost
Converted mana cost2
Border colorBlack
Set MH2 - Modern Horizons 2
RarityRare
Layoutnormal
TypeCreature — Human Warlock
Power 2
Toughness 2
Number372
Frame version2015
Illustred by Pauline Voss

This card is found in a booster pack.

This card be found in foil.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

HistoricbrawlLegal
CommanderLegal
HistoricLegal
LegacyLegal
ModernLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal
GladiatorLegal

Recent decks

Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
6/12/202175StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Bruno Di Donato
3/12/202175StandardBruno Di Donato
Jeff Jablonski
3/12/202175StandardJeff Jablonski
Izzet Epiphany
3/12/202175StandardYo Akaike
Jeskai Dragons
3/12/202175StandardJordan Freed
Izzet Epiphany
3/12/202175StandardTomáš Pokorný

Text of card Priest of Fell Rites


, Pay 3 life, Sacrifice Priest of Fell Rites: Return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield. Activate only as a sorcery. Unearth {3} ({3}: Return this card from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step or if it would leave the battlefield. Unearth only as a sorcery.)

Rules and information for Priest of Fell Rites


2021-06-18

You choose the target of the first ability before paying any of that ability’s costs. In other words, you can’t choose Priest of Fell Rites itself as the target to bring it back from the graveyard.

2021-06-18

Activating a creature card’s unearth ability isn’t the same as casting the creature card. The unearth ability is put on the stack, but the creature card is not. Spells and abilities that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle) will interact with unearth, but spells and abilities that interact with spells (such as Cancel) will not.

2021-06-18

If a creature returned to the battlefield by the unearth ability would leave it for any reason, it’s exiled instead—unless the spell or ability that’s causing the creature to leave the battlefield is actually trying to exile it. In that case, the spell or ability succeeds at exiling the creature. If the spell or ability later returns the creature card to the battlefield (as Ephemerate might, for example), the creature card will return as a new object with no relation to its previous existence. The unearth effect will no longer apply to it.