MTG Card Clockwork Beast
Formats and restrictions
Text of card Clockwork Beast
Clockwork Beast enters the battlefield with seven +1/+0 counters on it. At end of combat, if Clockwork Beast attacked or blocked this combat, remove a +1/+0 counter from it. , : Put up to X +1/+0 counters on Clockwork Beast. This ability can't cause the total number of +1/+0 counters on Clockwork Beast to be greater than seven. Activate only during your upkeep.
Rules and information for Clockwork Beast
Loses a counter even if it is affected by a Fog-like effect which prevents it from dealing damage.
Can attack or block even if it has no counters.
This is a change from the most recent wording. Now, if some other spell or ability causes +1/+0 counters to be put on Clockwork Beast, it can wind up with more than seven such counters on it.
If Clockwork Beast has seven or fewer +1/+0 counters on it when its last ability resolves, it can wind up a maximum of seven such counters on it. If it has seven or more +1/+0 counters on it, the ability will have no effect.
Clockwork Beast’s last ability resolves, you can choose to put fewer than X +1/+0 counters on it.