MTG Card Mizzix of the Izmagnus


Mizzix of the Izmagnus
Reprint
Released2015-11-13
Mana cost
Converted mana cost4
Border colorBlack
Set OC15 - Commander 2015 Oversized
RarityMythic
Layoutnormal
TypeLegendary Creature — Goblin Wizard
Power 2
Toughness 2
Number50
Frame version2015
Illustred by Cliff Childs

This card is found in a booster pack.

This card be found in foil.

Printings

Formats and restrictions

CommanderLegal
LegacyLegal
VintageLegal
DuelLegal

Recent decks

Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202267Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
31/1/202275Standard
Platinum-Mythic Rank Player
17/1/202262StandardPlatinum-Mythic Rank Player
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard
Traditional (Bo3) - STANDARD
10/1/202275Standard

Text of card Mizzix of the Izmagnus


Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell with mana value greater than the number of experience counters you have, you get an experience counter. Instant and sorcery spells you cast cost less to cast for each experience counter you have.

Rules and information for Mizzix of the Izmagnus


2015-11-04

You finish casting a spell, including paying its costs, before Mizzix’s first ability triggers. The ability that gives you the experience counter will resolve before the spell that caused it to trigger.

2015-11-04

Mizzix’s last ability doesn’t change the mana cost or converted mana cost of any spell. It changes only the total cost you pay.

2015-11-04

Mizzix’s last ability can’t reduce the amount of colored mana you pay for a spell. It reduces only the generic component of that cost.

2015-11-04

If there are additional costs to cast a spell, or if the cost to cast a spell is increased by an effect (such as the one created by Thalia, Guardian of Thraben’s ability), apply those increases before applying cost reductions.

2015-11-04

The cost reduction can apply to alternative costs such as flashback costs.

2015-11-04

If an instant or sorcery spell you cast has in its mana cost, you choose the value of X before calculating the spell’s total cost. For example, if that spell’s mana cost is and you have one experience counter, you could choose 5 as the value of X and pay {4} to cast the spell.

2015-11-04

Experience counters are the second kind of counters a player can have, joining poison.

2015-11-04

All experience counters are identical, no matter how you got them. For example, the last ability will count experience counters that you got from the first ability, from another ability, from proliferating, and so on.

2015-11-04

Each game pack includes a card labeled “Experience” with the suggestion “Place your experience counters here.” This card isn’t required for play. It’s simply a convenient spot to put your experience counters, which can be represented with dice, glass beads, or other small items.