MTG Card Eccentric Apprentice
|Converted mana cost||3|
|Set||AFR - Adventures in the Forgotten Realms|
|Type||Creature — Tiefling Wizard|
|Illustred by||Campbell White|
This card be found in foil.
Formats and restrictions
Text of card Eccentric Apprentice
Flying When Eccentric Apprentice enters the battlefield, venture into the dungeon. (Enter the first room or advance to the next room.) At the beginning of combat on your turn, if you've completed a dungeon, up to one target creature becomes a Bird with base power and toughness 1/1 and flying until end of turn.
Rules and information for Eccentric Apprentice
Eccentric Apprentice's last ability works even if it wasn't on the battlefield when you completed a dungeon and even if the dungeon was completed on a previous turn.
A creature that becomes a Bird this way loses all other creature types but does not lose any of its abilities.
The last ability will overwrite any previous effects that set the creature's power and toughness to specific numbers. Effects that otherwise modify the target creature's power and toughness will still apply no matter when they took effect. The same is true for +1/+1 counters.
To venture into the dungeon, a player moves their venture marker into the next room of the dungeon they are currently in. If they aren't currently in a dungeon, that player instead chooses a dungeon card from outside the game, puts it into the command zone, and moves their venture marker onto the first room.
Moving into a dungeon room will cause its room ability to trigger.
Once you resolve the last room ability of a dungeon, that dungeon is now completed and is removed from the game.
A player may only have one dungeon in the command zone at a time.
The player venturing into the dungeon chooses which dungeon they will venture into. They may choose a dungeon that they have already completed this game.
Dungeon cards are not part of a player’s deck or sideboard. In both constructed and limited formats, players can use any dungeon card when they venture into the dungeon.
You can only move forward (well, downward) in a dungeon, never backwards or sideways.
Dungeons are removed from the game as a state-based action.
If you somehow venture into the dungeon while a room’s ability is on the stack, you will continue on in the dungeon. If you’re already in the last room, complete that dungeon and start a new one.
Choosing the dungeon or room to venture into is part of resolving the venture into the dungeon keyword action. Once that choice is made, players may not respond until after the appropriate room ability has triggered.